Opinion

John M. Crisp: Who gets to decide about going to war with Iran?

Peace hangs by a thinner thread than usual in the Middle East, and the Trump administration is granting other factions significant control over what happens next.

  • May 21st, 2019

 

Lionel Laurent: France’s Macron takes a closer look at Facebook

The “Christchurch Call” is the start of a long process that will need to balance all sorts of issues — from freedom of speech to privacy.

  • May 21st, 2019

 

Jerry Cornfield: Upon further review, EPA wants to redo water quality rules

Gov. Jay Inslee no longer embraces the standards submitted to the feds in the summer of 2016, if — conjecture here — he and his Department of Ecology ever truly did.

  • May 18th, 2019

 

Jeff Myers: Remembering fallen officers

In 1962, President John F. Kennedy signed a proclamation designating May 15 as Peace Officers Memorial Day.

  • May 18th, 2019

Shalom Auslander: Opposing the Writers Guild got me labeled a traitor

I am a proud member of the Writers Guild of America, but lately I feel about my union like I feel about the Lakers: I like the players, but I’m beginning to have serious doubts about management.

  • May 18th, 2019

Ronald J. Krotoszynski Jr.: The bigger reason Steven Mnuchin should turn over Trump’s tax returns

The relevant statutory language, which dates to 1924, provides that the secretary “shall furnish” the House Ways and Means Committee “with any return or return information” that it requests.

  • May 16th, 2019

Tim Penny and David Minge: Our trillion-dollar problem deserves bipartisan attention

How many warnings will it take for our leaders to pay attention? What is the tipping point that will force our leaders to act?

  • May 16th, 2019

Tammy Duckworth: More women in Congress could be a good thing for family leave legislation

I’ll never understand how it took 229 years for the Senate to adopt a policy that would allow working moms to, well, work.

  • May 15th, 2019

Patricia Murphy: ‘Grimmer by the day’: Farmers’ love for Trump in peril

It wasn’t any wonder when the patience in rural America simply ran out last week when news of more Chinese tariffs from Trump broke.

  • May 15th, 2019

Tyler Cowen: Americans don’t trust their fellow Americans

Americans’ trust in their government is abysmally low, according to both survey data and a more subjective reading of opinions about President Donald Trump and Congress.

  • May 14th, 2019

Bobby Ghosh: Iran’s staged pullout from the nuclear deal will backfire

Iran’s threat to pull out of the nuclear deal will likely have the opposite effect from the one the regime intends.

  • May 14th, 2019

Jim Walsh: A recap of the state legislative session

The conventional wisdom in Olympia is that the session “could have been worse.” I’d give it a grade of C+.

  • May 11th, 2019

Jerry Cornfield: One historic era ends and another begins in state House

On May 3, workers scraped Chopp’s name from the door and put up Lovick’s along with the title Acting Speaker.

  • May 11th, 2019

Francis Wilkinson: Pelosi’s dangerous battle against Trump

She faces mounting pressure, no doubt from her own conscience as well as from Democratic activists, to address the broad and deep corruption of Trump’s presidency.

  • May 9th, 2019

Jay Ambrose: Yes, there really, truly is a crisis at the border

Even The New York Times has come around to seeing there is a crisis at the southern border and it has to be addressed.

  • May 9th, 2019

Mike Godwin: Tech needs ethics more than rules

The framework needed can’t be created out of whole cloth just by new government regulation; it has to be grounded in professional ethics.

  • May 7th, 2019

Jeremy Field: Small businesses intricately woven into our daily lives

I have a challenge for you: Try to go one day without having a small business impact your life.

  • May 7th, 2019

Group says county, city of McCleary have been lax water monitors

Interlocal agreement isn’t being maintained

  • May 7th, 2019

Hits Misses

Kudos to the City of Ocean Shores, Mayor Crystal Dingler and the…

  • May 4th, 2019

Jim Daly: People sometimes ask: “What was it like?”

Was it hard? Yes. Did we get hurt? Yes, many of us did. Would we do it again? Absolutely.

  • May 4th, 2019