12 Stafford Creek employees win DOC awards

  • Fri May 15th, 2020 3:30pm
  • News
Dan Van Ogle

Dan Van Ogle

By Kat Bryant

Grays Harbor News Group

Twelve employees of the Stafford Creek Corrections Center in Aberdeen have received Agency Awards from the Washington State Department of Corrections.

The annual awards spotlight DOC employees all over the state for outstanding work, based on recommendations submitted by their colleagues. This year, 169 were chosen from among 930 nominations.

“Each award recipient serves as a role model for their dedication and service to the department,” DOC Secretary Stephen Sinclair said in a prepared statement. “It’s a pleasure to be able to recognize our employees who go above and beyond to keep our communities and facilities safe.”

While the recipients have been notified of their honors, they have not yet received copies of the original nomination forms because the April awards event had to be delayed for coronavirus concerns.

“The nomination forms explain why their nominators thought the employee was deserving of the award,” said DOC spokeswoman Rachel Friederich. “But since the ceremony was postponed due to the governor mandated public gatherings ban, the employees themselves don’t yet know the specific reasons for their awards.”

Here are the honorees from Stafford Creek:

Mitchell Bolden, corrections specialist

Petrine Marciniak Inspirational Award — Presented to an employee who was confronted with a life-altering situation and used perseverance, dedication and determination to overcome it.

Timothy Sayre, correctional officer

Correctional Officer of the Year — Presented to an officer whose performance goes above and beyond normal requirements and who demonstrates their commitment to the department’s goals and mission.

Ronald Haynes, superintendent

Leadership — Presented to an employee who exhibits exceptional leadership qualities and provides a clear vision of what success looks like and how to achieve it.

Dennis D. Dahne, corrections specialist

Valor — Presented to an employee who demonstrated courage and bravery in the face of danger; understood the seriousness of the situation that demanded immediate action to prevent the possibility of injury or death.

Kelly Peterson, corrections specialist

Community Partnership — Presented to an employee who understands the importance of partnering and collaborating with the community.

Victoria Gamroth, corrections specialist

James Jolly, correctional unit supervisor

Shari Martinez, warehouse operator

Outstanding Performer — Presented to an employee who consistently exhibits superior job performance and displays a strong work ethic.

Amanda Kersey, health services manager

Innovation — Presented to a team of department employees who have developed new and creative ways of doing business to drive the organization forward.

Dan Van Ogle, associate superintendent

Excellence in Service — Presented to an employee who values the importance of building and maintaining relationships, both internally and externally, and conducts business in a professional manner.

Department Incident Management Team

Michelle Cardwell, Secretary Supervisor

Charles Casey, Lieutenant

Team Excellence — Recognizes outstanding teamwork within a group of department employees.

More information about the awards and complete descriptions is available at www.doc.wa.gov/about/employees/awards.htm.