Raymond’s Hamlin nabs regional 2B wrestling title

  • Sun Feb 12th, 2017 6:05pm
  • Sports

ADNA — Raymond’s Tristan Hamlin won the 126-pound championship at the Region I Class 2B Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Adna.

The Raymond sophomore decisioned Lucas Ashley, 12-1, in the title match.

Hamlin was the lone Twin Harbors champion. But Ocosta, led by regional runners-up Sam Quinby, Matthew Hart and Kaleb Orton, finished third in the team competition with 114 points.

Ilwaco easily took team honors with 215 1/2 points. Adna was second with 158.

Raymond’s Jack Jordan and North Beach’s Seth Bridge were also regional runners-up.

The top five at each weight advanced to Mat Classic next weekend at the Tacoma Dome.

Regional championship matches, plus Twin Harbors state qualifiers:

106: Championship — Curtis Lenz (Rainier) dec. Chase Staup (Kalama), 4-2. 113: Championship — Elias Harvey (Life Christian) dec. Ghannon Whelden (Ilwaco), 6-4. 120: Championship — Tony Merino (Ilwaco) dec. Kaleb Orton (Ocosta), 15-8. 126: Championship — Tristan Hamlin (Raymond) dec. Lucas Ashley (Adna), 12-1. 5. Daniel Quinby (Ocosta). 132: Championship — Louie Ketchum (Concrete) dec. Sam Quinby (Ocosta), 7-2. 4. Joseph Lewis (South Bend). 138: Championship — Jack Odneal (Ilwaco) dec. Jack Jordan (Raymond), 7-0. 5. Cosmo Silver (Ocosta). 145: Championship — Jacob Posey (Kalama) dec. Braxton Dowell (Adna), 7-4. 5. Jace Duckworth (Raymond).

152: Championship — Matthew Slape (Adna) dec. Matthew Hart (Ocosta), 7-1. 5. Luke Borden (Raymond). 160: Championship — Ashton Dowell (Adna) dec. Gage Burtenshaw (Darrington), 3-1. 3. Kalvyn Scott (Ocosta). 4. Ben Byington (South Bend). 5. Noah Martin (Ocosta). 170: Championship — Daylin Kemmer (Ilwaco) dec. Steven Roberts (Rainier), 4-0. 4. Brenden Chaney (North Beach). 182: Championship — Matthew Haynes (Kalama) dec. Kameron Perry (Adna), 8-5. 5. Hayden Hoff (Ocosta). 195: Championship — Ezra Miller (Life Christian) dec. Seth Lindsey (Winlock), 6-5. 3. Hunter Dianovich (North Beach). 220: Championship — Alec Bell (Ilwaco) pinned Seth Nichols (Toledo), 0:54. 3. Christian Anderson (Raymond). 5. Tucker Deranleau (Ocosta). 285: Championship — Dalton Yoder (Toledo) dec. Seth Bridge (North Beach), 8-1.