Ocosta’s Gilbert named Pacific League MVP

All-league softball list dominated by Twin Harbors talent

After an outstanding sophomore season, Ocosta star pitcher Jessie Gilbert was named the 2B Pacific League’s Most Valuable Player for 2023.

Arguably the best pitcher in the state across any classification, Gilbert dominated the competition as the Wildcats ace this season.

The right-hander went 12-1 with a 0.72 ERA and is an absolute strikeout machine, whiffing 261 batters in 106 1-3 innings pitched while allowing just 11 earned runs and 33 hits this season.

Gilbert’s accolades are nothing short of spectacular, striking out every batter she faced – 22 in total – to set a state record in a win over Onalaska on March 16 and led her team to a district championship by tossing four consecutive no-hitters, including a 3-0 win over No. 1 Adna in the final.

Gilbert’s prowess in the circle often overshadows her ability at the plate. Gilbert led Ocosta with a .603 batting average, 10 home runs and 41 RBI with a massive 2.085 OPS.

The league’s First Team was dominated by local standouts.



Joining Gilbert on the league’s top squad were Pe Ell-Willapa Valley standouts Grace Huber, Jillian Hodel, Payton Peterson and Lauren Matlock; and Raymond-South Bend stars Kyndal Koski and Ava Pine.

Raymond-South Bend head coach Dakota Brooks was named the league’s Coach of the Year as the Ravens sported a winning record, one of the best defenses in the district and earned an appearance in this week’s state tournament in its first season as a combo program.

The complete all-league team is as follows:



2023 2B Pacific All-League Softball Team

League MVP: Jessie Gilbert, Ocosta

Coach of the Year: Dakota Brooks, Raymond-South Bend

Sportsmanship: Chief Leschi

First Team

Grace Huber, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley; Jillian Hodel, PWV; Payton Peterson, PWV; Lauren Emery, PWV; Lauren Matlock, PWV; Emma Glazier, Raymond-South Bend; Kyndal Koski, RSB; Ava Pine, RSB; Keira Johnson, Forks; Elizabeth Soto, Forks.

Second Team

Megan Dille, Ilwaco; Mikaila Warfield, Ilwaco; Zaida Morales, Ocosta; Brynn Rasmus, Ocosta; Kassie Koski, RSB; Berklee Morley, RSB; Chloe Gaydeski, Forks; Kadie Wood, Forks; Kyra Neel, Forks; Noel Cuzdey, Ocosta.



Honorable Mention

Sophia Milanowski, PWV; Rilyn Channell, PWV; Bailey Johnson, Forks; Kaiden Rigby, Forks; Sam Schlegel, Ocosta; Joanah Rosander, Ocosta; Ashlee Payne, RSB; Raydynn Morley, RSB; Emily Morris, Ilwaco; Kaylee Anderson, Ilwaco; Tawny Mckinney, Chief Leschi; Joanne Satiacm-Billie, Chief Leschi.

All-Academic Team

Chloe Gaydeski, Forks; Haven Hoffman, Forks; Keira Johnson, Forks; Kyra Neel, Forks; Kadie Wood, Forks; Payton Peterson, PWV; Brookelynn King, PWV; Sophia Milanowski, PWV; Grace Huber, PWV; Lauren Emery, PWV; Lorelei Smaciarz, PWV; Jillian Hodel, PWV; Lauren Matlock, PWV; Eliza Barnum, PWV; Rilyn Channell, PWV; Emma Glazier, RSB; Kassie Koski, RSB; Kyndal Koski, RSB; Ayla Hanson, RSB; Sophia Torres-Merino, RSB; Presley McVey, RSB; Noel Cuzdey, Ocosta; Jessie Gilbert, Ocosta; Jolissa Schlegel, Ocosta; Millie Tucker, Ocosta; Josie Scheuber, Ocosta; Gabrielle Ness, Ocosta; Sophie Olive, Ocosta.

Kyndal Koski

Kyndal Koski