News class named for AHS Hall of Fame

Five former athletes, a longtime coach and a team have been selected for induction into Aberdeen High School’s athletic Hall of Fame.

Former Bobcat standouts Mike White (Class of 1966), Kristy Fleming (1990), Brenda Blancas (1991), Stephanie Pellegrini (1996) and Erich Schmidtke (2008), recently retired AHS girls swim coach Jan Simons and Aberdeen’s 2007 state 2A runner-up boys soccer team will be inducted in ceremonies scheduled for 7 p.m. Sept. 4 at the high school commons.

The late Morris Bowes (Class of 1930) was also selected, but his induction has been tentatively postponed until 2022 pending the receipt of additional biographical information. Anyone with specific biographical data on Bowes is asked to contact any Hall of Fame committee member or by emailing Aaron Roiko at or Rick Anderson at

This year’s induction ceremony will be a dessert-only affair due to pandemic-related health precautions, with no admission charged.

Due to limited seating, however, advance reservations are required. Those planning to attend are asked to contact Kim Edwards at (360) 581-2123.

The Daily World