Monday Prep Roundup: Montesano’s Pierce named WIAA Athelte of the Week

Also: All-League teams named for 1B football, volleyball

Montesano running back Isaiah Pierce was named one of the Athletes of the Week by the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association for his performance during a 42-20 victory over La Center in a 1A district playoff game on Nov. 5.

Pierce ran for 208 yards and scored four touchdowns in the victory that catapulted Montesano to the state tournament and was named to the WIAA list for Week 9.

Lake Quinault’s Ferry named 1B Coastal Offensive MVP

Lake Quinault Elks quarterback Jesse Ferry was named the 1B Coastal League (6-man) Offensive MVP for leading the Elks in more ways than one this season.

Ferry led the Elks to wins over Wishkah Valley and Mary M. Knight while under center but then moved to running back due to injuries that caused Elks head coach Melvyn Houtz to move some chess pieces around.

In a 56-14 win over the Washington School for the Deaf, Ferry rushed for 320 yards on 23 carries and scored six touchdowns to lead Lake Quinault to the victory.

The full all-league team is as follows:

1B Coastal Football All-League Team

League MVP — Quinnton Krippelcz (Mary M. Knight)

Offensive MVP — Jessy Ferry (Lake Quinault)

Defensive MVP — Junior Babber (Northwest Christian)

Sportsmanship — Wishkah Valley

First Team

Quarterback — Ryan Good (MMK)

Offensive Lineman — Emmanuel Vennegas (LQ); Jacob Mullen (NWC)

Running Back — Jace Lewandowski (WA School for the Deaf); Cody Perry (LQ)

Receiver — Alexander Schaut (WSD)

Defensive Tackle — Danny Goeders (MMK); Adam Brooks (NWC)

Defensive Back — Dig Zilla (NWC); Isaac Appadurai (NWC)

Linebacker — Cody Perry (LQ); Jacob Hall (MMK)

Defensive End — Brandon Campbell (NWC); Grady Fowler (LQ)

Utility — Kevin Diaz (WSD); Rique Guzman (Wishkah)

Honorable Mention

Joseph Meier (NWC); Robbie Strain (MMK); Charles Gumecindo (LQ)


Pair of Willapa Valley Vikings named to league’s First Team

Willapa Valley’s Lauryn McGough and Lanissa Amacher were both named to the 1B Columbia Valley All-League Volleyball First Team after leading the Vikings to a berth in the state tournament this season.

Amacher a senior all-around player and McGough, a junior outside/middle hitter, were both named to the First Team after leading the Vikings to a 10-8-1 overall record in 2021.

The complete 1B Columbia Valley All-League Volleyball Team is as follows:

1B Columbia Valley All-League Volleyball

League MVP — Peyton Torrey, jr., Mossyrock

Coach of the Year — Alex Nelson, Mossyrock

Team Sportsmanship — Naselle

First Team

Peyton Dalton, sr., Naselle; Hailey Brooks, jr., Mossyrock; Brynn Tarabochia, jr., Naselle; Lanissa Amacher, sr., Willapa Valley; Paige Houghtelling, jr., Mossyrock; Lauryn McGough, jr., Willapa Valley; Kaylin Shrives, jr., Naselle.

Second Team

Chantelle Isaacson, sr., Three Rivers Christian; Cealyn Marshall, jr., Mossyrock; Pervie Reed, sr., Three Rivers Christian; Jolee Hadaller, sr., Mossyrock; Alli Engel, sr., Pe Ell; Elsa Helmes, jr., Firm Foundation; Leah Pearson, sr., Columbia Adventist.

Honorable Mention

Echo Cenci, sr., Naselle; Raegan Portman, sr., Willapa Valley; Grace Huber, sr., Willapa Valley; Ava Bush, sr., Pe Ell; Jailey Carroll, jr., Three Rivers Christian; Kennedy Kephart, sr., Pe Ell; Merissa Fraisier, sr., Willapa Valley; Morgan Reitz, sr., Naselle.