Opinion

Karl W. Smith: Billionaires aren’t the problem

Billionaires and social democracy are both doing quite well, thank you, in Scandinavia.

  • Jun 19th, 2019

 

Eli Lake: Don’t blame Trump for Iran’s aggression

His smarter critics are not questioning Iran’s likely culpability. Instead, they are asking, “What did you expect?”

  • Jun 19th, 2019

 

Gustavo A. Flores-Macias: Trump’s hardball tactics could implode Mexico’s immigration system

A southern neighbor with an economy wrecked by trade barriers and overwhelmed by Central American migration is recipe for a humanitarian crisis right at our doorstep.

  • Jun 18th, 2019

 

Matt Welch: Banning hate never works out as we expect

After letting our social media panic rise for years, we finally helped convince Twitter to ban God.

  • Jun 18th, 2019

Jason Mercier: Refuse to cooperate with state audit, lose taxing authority

By Jason Mercier Washington Policy Center When we pay taxes, we usually…

  • Jun 15th, 2019

Nick Penniman: Honest Ads Act aims to minimize foreign election interference

Our country is facing a national emergency.

  • Jun 14th, 2019

Brian Boyle: Jon Stewart just reminded us how outrage is supposed to work

He’s still angry as ever, but he’s moved from the peanut gallery into the front row.

  • Jun 13th, 2019

Mike Duggan: Infrastructure boost could mean good jobs for the formerly incarcerated

The infrastructure talks collapsed as soon as they began, much to the frustration of most Americans.

  • Jun 13th, 2019

Ramesh Ponnuru: Biden’s flip on abortion funding hurts him and his party

There will be a cost to Biden’s choice.

  • Jun 13th, 2019

Michael Reagan: Great American stories never told

As I talked to many of the good people in the heart of America, it struck me how testy or peeved everyone is about politics.

  • Jun 12th, 2019

Sarah Menkedick: Men can’t hear it, women don’t say it: the everyday importance of ‘no’

He was the third contractor my husband and I brought in for an estimate on a new roof.

  • Jun 12th, 2019

Margaret Wurth: What life is like when abortion is banned

As Republicans in states around the country pass sweeping abortion bans, I think about what life could be like for women and girls if these laws take effect. I don’t have to use my imagination.

  • Jun 11th, 2019

Trudy Rubin: Competing visions on D-Day: Trump’s nationalism vs. Macron’s plea for a strong alliance

I’ve just returned from a trip to Italy, Britain, and France, where I watched the struggle between far-right populist nationalists and those who believe in a united, democratic Europe.

  • Jun 11th, 2019

Jerry Cornfield: When will 2020 governor’s race begin? When Inslee says so

As Gov. Jay Inslee prepared to launch his campaign for president earlier this year, he had a request of three fellow Democrats he knew to be interested in his job.

  • Jun 8th, 2019

Walter Shapiro: The GOP’s secret roadmap to undermine the 2020 census

Thomas Hofeller was the most artful and devious Republican cartographer of his generation.

  • Jun 8th, 2019

Carl P. Leubsdorf: Uncertain times for US, allies

Seventy-five years ago, thousands of American and allied sailors, soldiers and aviators began the decisive campaign to end Nazi control of Europe.

  • Jun 6th, 2019

Jay Ambrose: Trump defenders are not bad people

John Pavlovitz is a liberal, widely read Christian pastor who has composed an internet article saying good people don’t defend a bad man.

  • Jun 6th, 2019

Douglas Perry: Despite poor ratings, Trump will be re-elected

President Donald Trump has never been able to reach a 50% job-approval rating in mainstream opinion surveys.

  • Jun 6th, 2019

Virginia Heffernan: Justin Amash’s town hall revealed the cure for right-wing lunacy: right-wing common sense

Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.), who advocates the impeachment of President Trump, held a rousing town hall in his home district last Tuesday.

  • Jun 5th, 2019

Will Bunch: Mitch McConnell’s democracy-crushing smirk is why just getting rid of Trump isn’t enough

So this is how liberty dies — with a hideous, utterly shameless smirk on the face of arguably the most cynical political leader in American history.

  • Jun 5th, 2019